top of page
작성자 사진Joohyun Cha

Blood Boiler : Lacrosse

I remember the cry of enthusiasm ringing in my ear. I remember the trickle of sweat rolling down my face, with my eyes piercing the thick air. I remember myself, flashing through my opponents, as if I was a streak of light. I remember the net shaking as if something exploded. I remember my heart beating as if it was banging my chest and shouting, "Let me out!" I remember my lacrosse goal.

Have you ever had the feeling of 'blood boiling' (not because of temperature, but because of passion and excitement and you know, those kind of things)? You will doubtlessly have gotten that feeling once in your life. There are, indeed, a few 'blood boiling' moments that are common for boys. You meet you meet your lobe, say that you sincerely can do anything for her. She says she loves you too. You feel your head do a nuclear explosion. One 'blood boiling' moment. You meet physics (or chemistry, or programming, or politics, or whatever that is you want to study) for the fist time in your life and feel linked to a new world: a world of vectors, sound waves, and magnetic fields. You go through books like a maniac, feeling the paradox of not understanding and loving coexisting. You decide to devote your life in it. Another 'blood boiling' moment. But for boys, at least for most of them, sports are the ultimate boiler of blood. You kick the ball and shake the net in soccer or crash through the other team to do a touch down. You feel your blood boiling so much that it would evaporate. All boys have one 'blood boiler'.

Lacrosse, to me, is the boiler. Maybe its because club in KMLA or maybe its because I love the mixture of its just because the gear is cool. For some reason, lacrosse is a thing that makes me show myself, the real me: a boy full of passion and hates losing. That is why I will never forget the moment I first scored. Dodging four players and making a wonderful shot to pin the ball inside the net; it is undoubtedly one of the best moments in my life. Though I was hurt a lot in that game and our team lost, I remember every second of that game as a slow motion video. The scenes of passionate cooperation with my teammates, hard crash that almost shattered my bones, my first goal and the rough hug that my friends gave me all lives inside me, replaying on and on.

If lacrosse wasn't in my life, what would've happened? Nothing much maybe, since I'm not going to be a professional lacrosse player or something. You would expect me to say, "I would be a boy with an important piece missing, living without any goals", but no, I have clear visions and dreams unrelated to the sport. But I will never have had the 'blood boiling' experience, the 'heart-banging' experience, and maybe one of the most intense experience in my life. The memory that sometimes make me grin, the memory that makes me feel I'm still a teenager will be gone and I would've lost an important part of me, the part most KMLA students give up living here, the part that we lose as we age: the part of having fun in life.

I will, you will, and every human being will live most of our life chasing our dreams and following our ambitions. I'm not saying that this is bad (I love doing programming and it is one of the things define me), but sometimes we should enjoy freely without responsibility. I will always remember the cry of enthusiasm, the trickle of sweat, flashing through my opponents, and shaking the net. I will always remember that my heart can beat so loudly, that I can truly have fun and enjoy thanks to lacrosse. Now, let me ask you, do you have something 'blood boiling' moment to remind you of your childlike joy and fun?

조회수 14회댓글 0개

최근 게시물

전체 보기

Letter to the Future

Dear Almost-Grown-Up Myself, How is the morning in KMLA? Sleepy, I assume, as usual. Today, at my time, I sent off seniors (you're a...

Comments


bottom of page